JAMES DEAN

We all love James Dean.  Jimmy is everything a man should be.  <3

“Being a good actor isn’t easy. Being a man is even harder. I want to be both before I’m done.”

“But you can’t show some far off idyllic conception of behavior if you want the kids to come and see the picture. You’ve got to show what it’s really like, and try to reach them on their own grounds.”

“Dream as if you’ll live forever. Live as if you’ll die today.”

“Being an actor is the loneliest thing in the world. You are all alone with your concentration and imagination, and that’s all you have.”

“The gratification comes in the doing, not in the results.”

“When an actor plays a scene exactly the way a director orders, it isn’t acting. It’s following instructions. Anyone with the physical qualifications can do that.”

“There is no way to be truly great in this world. We are all impaled on the crook of conditioning.”

“Only the gentle are ever really strong.”

“A fellow must have confidence.”

“Trust and belief are two prime considerations. You must not allow yourself to be opinionated. You must say, “Wait. Let me see.” And above all, you must be honest with yourself.”

“My purpose in life does not include a hankering to charm society.”

“I’ve got a lot of growing up to do yet. I’ve got to be given time to master the art of handling Hollywood—to learn what to say and what not to say.”

“I think the prime reason for living in this world is discovery.”

“I hate anything that limits progress and growth.”

“I’m playing the damn bongos and the world can go to hell.”

Gosh, I love him.

XOXO

tickle me vintage

Leave a Reply

